top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJoe Viscione

Hour of Code Reflection

Last week at Burlington High School was computer science week, or the Hour of Code. At help desk we were assigned a certain area of interest to explain to those in other classes that were interested. In result, I worked on Amazon AWS, a lex bot that when designed properly would greet you and tell you the weather. However, due to complication with software and timing, I was unable to present and assisted those who needed help on certain days with hour of code presentations/apps.




While I helped as much as I could with students that were vocal with their issues, the amount of people that struggled were limited and subsequently was my work. However, most of my assistance came through with processing, helping a few students understand the process of coping code and applying it to make colors and designs. The other presentations on drones were tricky as I was not adept at flying them, however, with the assistance of Ronin, we both helped students with drone connectivity problems. Also if there were no issues with amazon AWS I would have loved to present and show students the cool functions of the bot. But alas, other hour of code presentations were a hit, especially Ronin's cool tank game.


Lastly, while times during the week were relatively slow it was fun to see my classmates participate and enjoy the Samsung VR, as it took a load off and provided us with some relatively low competition. Also completely dismantling MR. Wong at Madden 19 was a fun way to cap off the week. Overall, I'd say Hour of Code was a success and while some improvements could be made such as more in-depth presentations for students to part take in, the majority of the week went very well.




- Joe Viscione

3 views0 comments
bottom of page